What is the National Honors Society

The National Honors Society, established in 1921, is a recognition program for students who strive to achieve excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. It is open to grades 10 through 12 in the United States, as well as several other countries.


What is the purpose of NHS

The purpose of this organization is to create enthusiasm for scholarships, to stimulate a desire to render service to promote leadership, and develop character in the students at East Liverpool High School.


How does one become a member of NHS

A student is nominated based on academic achievement. Then the student must complete and application and submit it to the advisor. Once selected, the student becomes an official member of the NHS at an induction ceremony and remains a member as long as they are in good standing.


Student Membership Guidelines

What is required to become a member and graduate with NHS honors

In order to be an active member of NHS and graduate with NHS honors, the students must
a. Maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher
b. Complete 25 community service hours – 12 of these hours may be completed during the summer months of June, July, and August with the remaining hours of service outside of the school day.
c. Participate in NHS fundraisers – Candy sale and sponsored sock hop
d. Beginning with the class of 2015 a positive teacher recommendation will also be considered

ELHS chapter of NHS Bylaws
How will students benefit from joining the NHS

1. Local recognition for leadership, scholarship, service, character, and academic achievement.

2.Recognition from national scholarship programs.

The final decision for induction is up to the discretion of the advisory board. To recieve all benefits of membership after induction, students must actively participate in fndraising and community service activities throughout the school year.

Fundraisers NHS members will participate in


Service Hours Opportunities
NHS Officers


President- Terran Stacey

Vice President- Morgan Morris

Secretary- Eric Glendenning

Treasurers- Kamren Klakos

NHS Members
Megan Baker Dontae Barrett John Bowen
Mackenzie Brown Collin Cline Kenzie Davis
Sierra Donahue Eric Glendenning Sydney Hill
Kamren Klakos Gracie LaScola Hunter McClain
Shawna McConnell Delana Mixter (PJ) Denver Moris
Morgan Morris Sobaan Razi Peyton Reed
Zachari Reinhart Kara Robbins Terran Stacey
William Todd Dominik Vallera Aiden Watkins
Noah Wheaton Hannah White  

*denotes dual NHS and NTHS

Service Activity Log Student Membership Guidelines
ELHS chapter of NHS Bylaws